Thread: Building Mortgage Free House in Interior AK

Default Building Mortgage Free House in Interior AK

I'm trying to get out of the rat race of life, sell my house and build something small and mortgage free.
    My plan is to build with money in savings. I'm an avid woodworker (furniture and such), and have built a 12x16 shed. My experience is very limited.

I'm trying to figure out how to build simply in Alaska, yet have the comforts for the wife. I need to have running water (holding tank) and electricity.

I have some questions:
    1) Holding Tank -
    I lived in a small house about 15 years ago with a holding tank. The tank was just buried next to the house. How do you plumb the lines from the house to the tank and prevent freezing? Heat tape?

2) Foundation
    I plan on pile and post of some sort. I don't have the land yet, but it may or may not be permafrost (depends...)
    If I do sonotubes, do I need this
    http://www.bigfootsystems.com/include/contact.htm

4) 16x20 now and upgrade later to 20x34?
    I am obviously limited by budget, but I keep having the idea of building 16x20 one room and sleeping loft, then in a couple years when money allows, building 20x34 with a separate bedroom and sleeping loft for the grandkids.

Can anyone direct me to some resources ? I have the books from Coop. Ext. on Arctic building, and some framing books. The problem I am having is reading about the Lower 48 methods, then trying to figure out the best way in Alaska.

Thanks for any and all advice!

Have a look around the Tok area. You can sink a well around there and the water is excellent which eliminates the need to store water. Land is pretty cheap (5 acres on the road system and power nearby for around $10k), no property or sales taxes either.