Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Lightweight liquid fuel stove options?

Default Lightweight liquid fuel stove options?

Well with this whole deal with air charters not allowing compressed fuel canisters on flights, we're now having to re-evaluate our stove choice for our sheep hunt this fall. Wrights only allows the green coleman canisters, no lightweight fuel canisters like snow peak, msr, jet boil, etc.

We were really light on weight with this option, a 2 oz stove with only the weight of the canisters. That's light! Now, looking at other options, everything seems heavy in comparison. Can anyone give me some tips or ideas on what the next lightest options are? Wood burning stoves are not an option where we'll be headed, I know that's been mentioned before.

I've never used white gas before, how long can I expect fuel to last in comparison to compressed iso-butane?

Thanks

Lots of sheep hunters use the MSR Whisperlite. It is not as light as some but it boils water quickly,uses very little fuel, and is dependable.

Mossyhorn, I recommend checking out the new members blog about backpacking stoves: adventures in stoving. Lots of good info for everyone.

Here is a post about the two multi-fuel stoves he reviewed. Towards the bottom he discusses the weights with liquid fuel vs gas fuel.

Anybody know what the BTU per ounce is for liquid fuel versus gas fuel? Knowing BTU per volume would be nice too. I suspect more BTUs from liquid fuel, but it's probably heavier. Also, the gas canisters add little weight compared to a bottle for liquid, but you will likely need several of those canisters for longer trips. I'm just wondering how the overall weight and volume stack up against each other.