Thread: Canadian /open carry while in alaska

Default Canadian /open carry while in alaska

May be visiting my ex. in HEALY with our daughter this summer. Is it o.k to carry my .44sbh. while there. have my canadian permits, and my form 6 from the BATF&E STATESIDE. THS . HEALEY

Alaska State law is if you are otherwise allowed to posses the gun here you may carry it any way you like, it says nothing about residency at all, where you are from doesn’t matter so long as you are legal to have the gun. As a U.S. non resident alien I believe (and I’m no lawyer) that to be allowed to have a gun you need a hunting license or something like your “form 6” (whatever that is) would cover it to satisfy the federal laws allowing you to have it. If legal to have it you can pack it but no bars, schools, Federal offices and what not. Also you must inform law enforcement officers you have it on you if they contact you in the line of duty, in other words if a cop says hi to you then you say something like hello officer, I am armed, what can I do for you.

Read the Misconduct Involving Weapons laws here:
    http://www.touchngo.com/lglcntr/akst.../Chapter61.htm

Out in the bear woods I doubt anyone is going to bother you for being armed legal or not.
    Andy
    On the web= C-lazy-F.co
    Email= Andy@C-lazy-F.co
    Call/Text 602-315-2406
    Phoenix Arizona

Nobody will look twice at you carrying a gun for bear protection in the woods (inside Denali National Park is one exception where you are not allowed to have any guns). You don't need a hunting licence unless you are actually hunting bears or other game. If you have to shoot one in self defense, notify the authorities and tell them the situation. They will believe you, unless you happen to have bacon draped all over you, or were trying to feed it honey

Quote Originally Posted by Arcticmayhem View Post