Thread: looking for a guide-pilot and plane to rent

Default looking for a guide-pilot and plane to rent

Hey I am a private pilot, 1000 h CPL IR MEP+SEP, living in europe. I am looking for a good pilot-instructor, to organize a trip around intersting spots in Alaska next august. I want to rent a plane, fly and land in interesting places. As i know Alaska is wide and wild, i cannot imagine flying only by myself. Who knows someone who could help me ?

I have not used them, but check http://www.abovealaska.com/trekalaska.htm They seem to have what you want.

Quote Originally Posted by ituma View Post
    Hey I am a private pilot, 1000 h CPL IR MEP+SEP, living in europe. I am looking for a good pilot-instructor, to organize a trip around intersting spots in Alaska next august. I want to rent a plane, fly and land in interesting places. As i know Alaska is wide and wild, i cannot imagine flying only by myself. Who knows someone who could help me ?
    MOST FBOs (Fixed Base Operators) will not rent aircraft they know will be flown to strips or fields that are not paved. Not all, but most. If you are looking for a pilot to go with you, you are into a "charter" rather than a "rental" situation. Good luck on your trip !!!

Quote Originally Posted by Grizzly 2 View Post

If you are looking for a pilot to go with you, you are into a "charter" rather than a "rental" situation. ]

I think I will challange that statement. I could go whth him as a experienced Alaskan Pilot and retired Guide.

Quote Originally Posted by AGL4now View Post
    I think I will challange that statement. I could go whth him as a experienced Alaskan Pilot and retired Guide.