Thread: Coming to Alaska to become a history teacher

Pittsburgh PA

Default Coming to Alaska to become a history teacher

Hey everyone! I'm graduating high school this year in Pennsylvania and continuing my education in a 4 year school down here. My major is secondary education and history/social studies so I plan on becoming a high school history teacher up there in about 5 years. I know that there is plenty of time between me and my goal but I want to be prepared as possible before I do it. My first question is if in the major universities in Alaska (UAA, UAS, and UAF) if there is a coarse for a bachelors degree in secondary education and history. I couldn't find one online but I just wanted to be sure so I didn't miss anything. I would love to transfer there in 2 years if there is so I can get accustomed to the lifestyle in a college environment first instead of jumping straight into the Alaskan real world right away. Secondly what would my chances be of finding this job. I have heard it is hard, but is it impossible? Also I heard a lot about subbing out of college to work my way up. How much do subs make and is it enough to live off of up there. Also what would be the best places to try to relocate to? I am into the outdoors (hunting, fishing, hiking, etc) and that is half of the reason why I want to move. SO what would be a good place to try to find a job to accompany all of those things.

South Central

It only took me 30 seconds to find the UAF School of Education. History is here. Your google fu is weak.

High school teachers are needed in the bush villages as well as in town. Here is Alaska teacher placement, first stop for jobs out of town. There are many more villages than towns. Subbing really only works out in the large cities. Lots of competition for those spots.