Thread: First year gardening, I think I started too early

Default First year gardening, I think I started too early

Hi everyone,
    Like the title says. This is my first year. I started the seeds and the packages were saying that it takes about a week for germination. Well, it's been a week and the plants started sprouting within 2 days. I used those Jiffy seed starters and have a dozen Acorn squash, artichoke, butternut squash, cucumbers, jalapeno peppers, serrano peppers, 3 types of tomatoes, snow pea, pole pea and cabbage. Everything is taking off except for the pepper plants. Only have 3 jalapenos starting to sprout. Still have planty of snow on the ground with freezing temps at night. I never would've thought every single seed would sprout for these plants. I just have a condo with a moderate sized backyard. I may be giving away some of these plants. I've never done this before and have been suprised. My countertops, dinning table and window ledges are full right now and getting some 5 gallon buckets. Going to be quite the forest. Oh well, hope they do well til I can take them outside or we get some warm weather quick. Think I bit off more than I can chew, literally and figuratively.

nah your not too early they take off guick then slow down when they get 7-8ish inches and they will still grow inside no problems just as long as they get some light during the day if you get to packed in the windows look at a green house cart and put it by a window thats an easy way to move them around and give them plenty of heat/ light

Waldo, this too is our first garden while living up here in Alaska. We planted tomatoes a little over a week ago in the house in 5 gal buckets and they are between 1-2 inches tall. We are still waiting to plant the rest of our veggie starters at the end of April. Looking forward to see how things turn out for us and all first timer gardeners. Good luck and keep all posted.