Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Resident Hunting in Alaska

Default Resident Hunting in Alaska

Hey everyone. I am a highschool student in Pennsylvania, however I plan on moving to Alaska after college because I want to take a different route in life then most of my friends and family from my area. I am an avid outdoorsmen and I have heard of the world class hunting and fishing Alaska has to offer. However most of the stuff online about it is about charters and guided hunts. I was wondering if as a resident if it is possible for you on days off for you to pick up your gear and head out for a random day hunt like we do down here. I feel like everything I read online is about 6 day long hunting expaditions and having to take bush planes to the most remote places in the state to hunt. Are there places like the game lands we have here where you can drive in, go hunting, and not have to worry about massive expeditions, costing hundreds if not thousands of dollars. Im sure this will ened up being a stupid question to you guys but I just want to know what I am geting myself into before I make the big descision of moving thousands of miles away from home. Thanks!!!

O Bjennings, your mind is going to be blown. Here is the link for our ADFG site, here you will learn a whole bunch about our wildlife and hunting/fishing regs.

http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=home.main

And about being able to just go hunting and fishing on your days off......We will be glad to welcome you as an Alaskan. There is so much public land up here, it will blow your mind coming from the private owned lands of the lower 48. This forum is full of stuff you need, just keep reading and have fun researching. There are also tons of books about hunting and fishing up here. good luck and have fun.