Thread: Spring Bear on the Steese

Default Spring Bear on the Steese

So I'm just going to start off by saying I'm new to Fairbanks. Just came up here this last fall to go to UAF and haven't done a whole lot of hunting up here, mostly just driving around to get to know the area. I know nobody is going to want to give away there secrets spots so I'm not gonna ask I just need a couple pointers. Now my question is:

How is the bear hunting around Davidson Ditch and Twelve Mile Summit? From what I understand a lot of bear hunting up here is done by glassing mountain sides (back in southeast we usually just cruise the beaches in the spring.) I went riding up that way this winter and it looked better than anywhere i've seen close to town as far as visibility goes on the mountain sides. Now what I'm thinking is just a couple weekend trips this spring where we hike in some of the trails and just find a good mountain side to glass for a couple of days and then put the stalk on one if we see one.

Also I guess I should say that I'll mainly be hunting black bears but would love to take a crack at a grizz if I see one.

well ill start by saying a non-res griz tag is $500... plus you have to have a guide... and black bear tag will run you 225.... i may be wrong but thats what the website says,.... also that doesnt include the hunting license

unless of coarse you moved to fairbanks from somewhere else in alaska... which now that i re read the post, seems to be the case

Yeah I'm from down in Southeast Alaska so I'm not worried as far as tags go

There are bears all over the state, but I wouldn't count on seeing many in that area. I would guess that a lot of folks from Fairbanks bait that area. A four-wheeler would greatly increase your chances though. Just need to get out further than everyone else.

Okay thanks, not the greatest news but I appreciate it. Might take my snowmachine down to Cantwell and try that area before all the snow disappears too