Thread: Need advice with deep depth of field

Default Need advice with deep depth of field

Hi All,

Well, I finally bought a DSLR camera (a canon T2i) which is sort on the cheap side of DSLR's.

I've seen some awesome pics taken with the canon 5D mark ii, and would like to get as close to that clarity as I can.

Being a beginner, I'm looking for advice on how to get the best landscape shots with a deep depth of field. Specifically, I want to take a landscape shot and have everything from the near brush to the far mountains in focus.

I've been playing with the "aperture priority" mode and have had some success, but I'm looking for more advice. I set the aperture to f/16 and had a pretty good pic. My lense looks to have a range of f/4-5.6, though. Does that mean that anything over a 5.6 setting on the camera has no additional benefit?

I'm a beginner and appreciate any advice.

Many thanks,

Rick

The smaller the lens opening, the greater will be the depth of field. Using f/16 is a good choice, but f/22 is much better, if that's possible on your camera.

F-stops are ratios of aperture to focal length; as focal length gets longer, the f-number increases. Your lens is a zoom, right? The f/4-5.6 is an indicator of the "speed" of the lens, or its widest aperture. Most SLR lenses stop down to f/22, which is more than you need for good depth of field in a moderately wide-angle lens. A tripod is absolutely mandatory for good landscape photography. If you're not using one, get the best you can, and set the self-timer for all shots to take camera shake out of the equation. Graduated neutral-density filters and circular polarizers, as well as Photoshop, are all musts, IMO.
    " Gas boats are bad enough, autos are an invention of the devil, and airplanes are worse." ~Allen Hasselborg

Quote Originally Posted by cdubbin View Post