Thread: Cruising RPM with Outboard

Default Cruising RPM with Outboard

I am new to using a 4 stroke outboard for power, I have been using inboards. My question is, what kind of RPM do you guys cruise with? What is a safe range for an outboard? I have a Yamaha F150. With my inboards, I always cruised between 3000-3400 rpm, but had heard of guys in the 4000 range, I would rather cruise on the low side to save fuel and wear and tear on the engine.
    Responsible Conservation > Political Allocation

I'm curious too...the previous owner said there's something in the owners manual but I didn't see anything specific. We also have a single Yamaha 150 [Weldcraft Ocean King 240 Ext Alaska Bulkhead] and while I can't recall the exact RPM [because it has been a while] but MPH ground speed as indicated on my GPS is right around 28. This is where the previous owner said he ran it and she seems to perform well.

Quote Originally Posted by hoose35 View Post
    I am new to using a 4 stroke outboard for power, I have been using inboards. My question is, what kind of RPM do you guys cruise with? What is a safe range for an outboard? I have a Yamaha F150. With my inboards, I always cruised between 3000-3400 rpm, but had heard of guys in the 4000 range, I would rather cruise on the low side to save fuel and wear and tear on the engine.

Assuming a prop, it depends on how you are propped but with a redline of 6000 rpm, most outboards perform best with a cruise in the 4000-4400 rpm range. If you want top fuel economy, get a floscan or such and see what is the most efficient for your engine and prop. Cruising on the low side can burn more fuel, so you really need to compare fuel burn to speed to know what is most efficient for your engine. The real key to keeping the wear and tear down is properly propping your engine. If you can't hit redline or within a couple hundred rpm of redline with your prop, it's got too much pitch and is putting more strain on your engine.