Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Rifles under $600

Question Rifles under $600

Hey everybody. I've been doing a lot of research lately and have decided to pick of a 30.06. My only problem is that I've been shooting my Savage WM 308 for the last 15 years and have no idea what brand is leading in the 30.06 department and quite frankly my budget is screaming don't spend more that $600. Please point me in the right direction.

SwampView AK, Overlooking Mt. Mckinley and Points Beyond.

I suggest a Weatherby Vanguard.

Smitty of the North
    Walk Slow, and Drink a Lotta Water.
    Has it ever occurred to you, that Nothing ever occurs to God? Adrien Rodgers.
    You can't out-give God.

I have also been shopping for the exact same gun. Here is my list that I came up with from internet research, talking to people, and handling a few:

1. Weatherby Vanguard Series 2 - Just seemed to handle really well and got great reviews. I liked the trigger too. Comes with a Sub-MOA guarantee. I am buying this one when Uncle Sam gives me back my money.

2. Remington 700 - One of the most popular and most produced guns ever made. You just can't go wrong with this gun.

3. T/C Venture - I liked the specs, but I never got to hold one. Seemed to get good reviews. Also comes with a Sub-MOA guarantee.

4. Savage/Stevens 200 - I liked the way it handled. The plastic stock felt cheap, but the rest of the gun felt solid.

5. Marlin XL7 - The only gun I didn't like. It felt like the action was made from cheap tin, and the bolt was wobbly and sticky. Overall it just felt cheap.

Hope this helps. I know I left a few out (Howa, Tikka, Remington, Ruger, etc), but those were the ones I did the most research on and the Vanguard seemed to be the best gun for the money. Good luck with your search.