Thread: Primer blowing out of casing

Default Primer blowing out of casing

I started shooting a new to me rifle and after two sessions (18 rounds) it blew the primer out of the casing. The rifle was cleaned between sessions. Shooting federal off the shelf rounds through Kimber 8400 300WSM. There are nick marks on the rim of cartridge as well as the blown primer. A friend who knows more about guns than I said it sounds like problems with either pressure or head space.

Someone recommended M&M gunsmith in Butte. Anyone be able to share experience with them or recommend another gunsmith to look at this problem?
    Thanks

What do the rest of the primers look like, are they flat or still recessed in the case? Can you measure the overall length of a fired case and compare it to the unfired case? Measure the outside dimension of the fired case and compare to new. These measurements should be within about .0005.

don't forget to check the shoulder of the fired case as compared to the dimensions of the unfired cases. It may very well be the load you are using. Check Federal Recalls too. To be honest, I had excessively sticky extraction and cratered primers with federal blue box in my 308 rifle. Do get a gunsmith to check it out though.

Does any other brand of ammo do this in your rifle?
    Federal had a small problem of not enough neck tesion in some flavors of ammo...
    That would cause a little primer setback, example is like when us shooters use wax, plastic, or rubber projectiles we drill out the primer hole to a larger size to eliminate this problem.
    Nick marks on the rim could just be the extractor....

I guess what I'm saying is right now you do not have 'nough info.

I would actually get a different box of shells (or get a few from one of your buddies) and shoot your rifle again.

keep us posted on the outcomes,

Chris

What kind of gun and so on . . .
    Andy
    On the web= C-lazy-F.co
    Email= Andy@C-lazy-F.co
    Call/Text 602-315-2406