Thread: Replacing shifter and cables... and reverse bucket question.

Default Replacing shifter and cables... and reverse bucket question.

Hello,

I have a custom built aluminum 22 foot river boat that sports a 460 w/ Berkeley jet drive. It was built almost 30 years ago and the throttle cables are VERY stiff, also the reverse bucket decided to stop dropping on our last trip of the summer. I assume something happened to the cable. I want to replace the shifter and the cables but I have never worked on a boat before. I am handy do-it-yourselfer with a wrench but I am no professional mechanic for sure. I have included a picture of the shifter and jet drive. You will see a pull handle behind (to the right) of the shifter. The builder of the boat put that in place to assist with getting the reverse bucket back up if it was sticking. Is this something the can be done by myself or is there fine tuning that is required that would better be done by a boat shop?

Second question is I am also looking at replacing the stock reverse bucket due to this thing handling like a pig in reverse. I have seen 2 custom split duct reverse bucket options but I dont know the model number of the drive since the boat is in winter storage at the moment. One is not much larger than the stock but it splits the stream of water to each side. The other is much larger/wider similar to that of a hamilton split duct. The larger one I dont think will fit between the bars protecting the drive. Looking for recommendations if anyone has attempted this on a Berkeley.

Thank you!
    Attached Images Attached Images