Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Airboat motor on a 19' Grumman?

Default Airboat motor on a 19' Grumman?

There is a guy on craigslist advertising a small airboat motor that he says he used on a 19 foot grumman. Anyone ever hear of such a thing?
    Wasilla Real Estate News
    www.valleymarket.com

I know someone who was building up a system for that. Don't know if he ever got it finally put together and working, but maybe he is trying to clear out some stuff from the house. I'll have to check out the listing.

Edit: Not him. Guess there are two crazy guys out there.... probably a few more than that.

Quote Originally Posted by martyv View Post
    There is a guy on craigslist advertising a small airboat motor that he says he used on a 19 foot grumman. Anyone ever hear of such a thing?
    I'm no marine engineer/mechanic, but that would scare the heck out of me.

The key word is "small", I have seen alot of these on the Texas Gulf coast for shallow water. They sit over the outboard, might be good to ease up small streams in Alaska?

I'd like to see it. Not saying it can't be done, but just that I'd like to see how that works (or doesn't).

Just google "Texas flounder gigging boats", and I have seen plenty on 19' Grummans. A guy down the street from me has one with a Honda motor about his Mercury outboard.

Great idea with an 80" bottom...but on a canoe??!! I Googled and found mention of such a thing but no picture.

We used to do that when I was kid in FL with a jon boat and a Coleman lantern and still fell out of the boat sometimes.
    Somewhere along the way I have lost the ability to act politically correct. If you should find it, please feel free to keep it.

Well, I went to take a look at it and I gotta say it's pretty cool. It was obviously made for a small boat or canoe and it actually appears to be manufactured for this reason. It's real old with a tiny 4 stroke that runs like a top. It's old enough to be pre-recoil starter.