Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Confuzed and Bewildered

Default Confuzed and Bewildered

I have been reloading for a couple of months now, and I still have A LOT to learn but... the question I have concerns loading for the 300RUM and accuracy of my reloaded ammo.

I loaded up a killer group with 180 gr Nosler ballistic tips and RL22, but I don't plan to hunt with that load. I have my heart set on using Barnes 200 grain FB x-bullets. The powder I hope to use is RL25, and maybe Retumbo in the future. I have cleaned the bore of my Remington 300RUM thoroughly before each trip to the range when I plan on using x-bullets. No copper fouling and my patches come out clean when I am done cleaning the rifle. And I let my rifle cool after each shot.

I started with the minimum recommend powder charge from the Barnes manual while using the 200 grain FB x-bullet and RL25. I would load up three and go up half a grain and I did that until I reached 1 grain under max. Each group shot horrible. Scattered groups where the average. I also use a shoulder pad, rifle rest, and I can see the bullet hit the snow bank through the scope.

I tried 200 grain Nosler partitions while using 7828ssc powder. The groups were even worse.

Is it possible my rifle does not like 200 grain bullets? Maybe a 180 gr bullet shoots better out of the high velocity 300rum? Maybe I should try a different powder? maybe my rifle does not like this powderI find it odd I can shoot great groups with an 180 grain ballistic's tip but when I move up to a 200 grain big game bullet my groups scatter like buckshot. I am told all companies that produce factory ammunition have stopped production of 200 gr 300RUM ammo, and the max is 180 gr bullets. Could this be an indication of horrible performance of a 200 gr bullet in a 300rum? Any thoughts of where I should go from here?

Default call barnes

I got a free barnes dvd just by calling them.