Thread: Red Hawk Rifles?

Default Red Hawk Rifles?

Was just wondering if anyone had any experience with one of these rifles. (not being caliber specific here)

http://www.redhawkrifles.com/product...-alaskan-rifle

Talked to the gunsmith (the owner I think) and seemed very knowledgable. Not to mention patient, especially for a guy with a pile of rifles to get built! Anyway, if anyone has played with one of these, I'd be interested to hear your opinions.

Thanks!

Quote Originally Posted by jamesjq View Post
    Was just wondering if anyone had any experience with one of these rifles. (not being caliber specific here)

http://www.redhawkrifles.com/product...-alaskan-rifle
    I've no experience with this particular builder, but what he's doing doesn't look difficult--nor does it look "custom." I've used factory SS 700 rifles for many years now and some fluting and trigger tuning does not make it a custom rifle.

For the same amount of money a guy can build a rifle with a top-shelf barrel and McMillan stock that will weigh an extra ounce or two because the action is not fluted. For my part, I'll never buy another B&C stock. Remington barrels are not "bad", but I much prefer a quality barrel maker if given the option, even more so at the same price point. Not to mention I'd get to make all the decisions in barrel contour, stock profile, etc. Some guys like turn key items, others like choices; I fall into the latter group.
    Foolishness is a moral category, not an intellectual one.

Yeah, I hear you about being able to pick and choose what you want. I'd love to be able to build one but with a 1 year old and a 2.5 year old, there is value (time and money wise) for me in something I can drag outta the box with a guarantee that it's gonna shoot. Not to mention being about as light as it can be.
    Just curious, why do dislike the Bell and Carlson stock? I've only ever held one on a Christensen and it seemed to feel right. Never shot one though.