Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: SOT's for Fishing

Default SOT's for Fishing

Anyone see the SOT's (Sit On Top) kayaks at the Alaska Raft and Kayak booth this week end? I have been researching SOT's and I think this is a great personal water craft for lakes and rivers that will open waters for those who like to paddle.

Although I have not got in mine yet, I purchase mine in Dec. when it was kinda nice out but since I have had mine this week is the only time weather has been nice enough to test it. Probably my fault we had such a cold spring . These guys are suppose to be stable and I really like the fact that they don't fill with water if you turn them over. Any, just asking if anyone else has started thinking about these for fishing?

George

I've been fishing from a kayak for about 5 years now, and I love it. The draft in a kayak is quite a bit less than a canoe, so you can really get shallow. As for sit-on-tops, I've been looking hard at the Hobie kayaks with the pedal system, but I'm thinking I'm going to look at some other SOT's. The main reason I would go with a SOT is because I want to take it in the seawater, and they would be easy to get back onto if you spill. I'm gonna do a little more looking around in Homer this summer before I lay down 2-3k on a nice kayak.
    "Wine can of their wits the wise beguile, Make the sage frolic, and the serious smile." - Homer, Odyssey

I picked up a cheap one several years back, and used it quite a bit, but not for fishing. The one I have is about 11' long and feels semi steady. It's far faster to paddle than my inflatable kayak, but not nearly as stable. It's a fun boat and I took it through some moderate class III+ white water with success. Although, if I played around in reversals and holes too much, I usually ended up swimming. In the mean time, I found that mine surfs quite well.