Thread: Update Willow SNOW!!!!!

Wink Update Willow SNOW!!!!!

Over 1.5 ft of snow todays
    Deep stuff on over a 3 ft base.
    Somebody get out here and pack this chit down.
    We got Iditarod in a week. The dogs wil lbe swiming to Nome.
    Whatch for overflow with this deep dump on all the lakes!
    Had to go dig 2 out today
    Have fun and pack the trails for me.
    Trail Boss
    Willow Trail Committe
    ALASKA'S Winter Park Cabins
    To boldly make trail where no man has gone before!!!

Just 55 miles north of ANC ... on the lake

I have been riding sleds for over 25 years...mostly trail riding and open country riding in the lower 48....The whole overflow thing has me asking questions?...I rode today and the lake i was cruising had a LOT of overflow...I have always believed "when in doubt power out"....but what are you experienced ladies and gents doing when you encounter a wet area on a foot of fresh snow...

Under what circumstances are folks getting stuck in the overflow and what is the best way to avoid the unseen until in it?

You got it - throttle up and DON'T STOP until your out of it.

As for avoiding it, following your buddy wouldn't be much fun . Overflow is somewhat unpredictable. You will have good solid ice one day and a few days later wet soggy overflow in the same spot. Sometimes overflow extends well up into the willows on the gravel bars far from where you would expect to find any water or wet conditions - beware.

Snowmachines with shorter tracks, smaller lugs, and smaller engines, often lack the flotation, traction, and power to escape the beast. Wide tracks and powerful deep powder machines can generally just power through, that is if you haven't already sunk up to your running boards and are going at a slow rate of speed before you realize your in trouble. Speed, momentum, power, and traction are your friend.

Might be a good idea to carry an extra pair of socks in the event you get mired in the crap.

Happy riding