Thread: .243 for black bear & moose

Default .243 for black bear & moose

I think it's generally too light for moose but have heard of some youth using the lower recoil round. My feeling is to catch Kings on fly poles you need some skill, as with using light gear for heavy game so especially for youth where the shot placement may not be optimal it'd make sense to use a more voluminous load.I feel black bear shouldn't be a problem with the .243, anyone have strong opinions? I recently picked up the Mossberg ATR in .243 and got it mostly for coyotes, fox, wolves and island deer. Anyone have experience with the ATR?... I haven't got out with it yet.

While the 243 is small for some hunting, I have used one off an on since I started shooting. During all of those years I have taken deer, caribou, black bear and moose with a 243. It is VERY important that the conditions of the shot be right but it can be done. Is the 243 my 'preferred' cabiler 'no' but it will take game down as long as the shot is within it capabilities.
    The 243 is easy to load for and alot of fun to shoot. It is a good weapon to start young shooter off with.

Its a great cartridge for black bear,s caribou, deer and moose. Like everything else shot placement is key as well as quality bullets. I have been using the Federal rounds with the 100gr Nosler Partition they shoot very accuratly and have taken one black bear and one moose with a single shot each (my 12 year old daughter). My two youngest daughters use it and love the rifle. Heck its a lot of fun to shoot and I shoot it about as often as they do at the range.

A 243 shooting 100's isn't that much different than the .25's shooting 100's, unless it's a 257wby or 25-06ai..

I love my 243 shooting the match grade 105gr bullets. Great accuracy, low recoil, and hell on deer. I'd not hesitate to use it on black bear. I'm sure I'll be carrying something else for moose, as I've got other options in the safe.