Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: 3% Draw Chance Story

Default 3% Draw Chance Story

As you can see I don’t post much on here but after reading 4merGuide’s post I figured I would share a story about my family’s draw success this year and the power of a little girl’s prayer. Some background information is needed to paint a full and accurate picture first. I have been hunting in AK for the last 7 years and have never considered myself a “Big Game Hunter” but more of a harvester of resources to sustain my family. I focus my draw selections on Cow Moose but I still do my part and contribute my $60 to F&G for what I call the little to no chance tags. You know the ones that I am talking about, TMA Sheep, Delta Bison and so on…. So back in December I was filling out my draw application and my 11 year old daughter asked me where we were going to hunt this year. It kind of caught me off guard because at the time I was day dreaming of chasing sheep in TOK. This automatically brought me back to reality but also sparked the light bulb over my head. “Youth Hunt”. I asked her what kind of game she would like to hunt and her response was; “well we are almost out of moose meat” so it was settled. We would put in for DM792 the Delta Bison range Youth Moose hunt. We have been down around that area plenty of times and have seen numerous moose every time. Unfortunately this tag is one of those true lottery (little to no chance) tags with a 3% draw chance. My daughter is smart enough to know that 3% is not very good odds but her mother said if you pray for it every night that God has a funny way of answering prayers. So every night from December 1st when she was saying her prayers she would end with “and God please let me help Daddy feed the family this year by letting me draw a moose tag, Amen”. Fast Forward, Feb 17th. The draw results come out. The family is gathered around the computer waiting for the PDF to download. I ask my daughter if she thinks she drew her tag. Without any hesi