Thread: DS203 DCUA timing

Default DS203 DCUA timing

I drew the DS 203 Delta Controlled Use Area Sheep tag. I am a complete newbie to sheep hunting and my only mountain hunting experience has been for sub-alpine deer down here in SE. I know how magical opening day for deer can be and how unwary the deer are until the lead starts flying. I always prefer to be on top of a mountain before the other guy and ready to hunt the day before the opener.

Is opening day for sheep the same as for deer? It is imperitive to be at your hunting grounds a day or two before the opener to beat the other guy? I just don't have a feel for how crowded that DCUA is going to be. 75 potential hunters in the area seems like alot to me.

I ask this since the opener is on a Friday and it would require me to take three to four days off from work prior to the season opening then more until I can find a legal animal. If I would wait a few days I could take advantage of two weekends and use less leave time. Thanks for your help guys!

Are you flying in or walking? If you fly, that will influence timing. If you're walking it will take a full day or more to get to the sheep. Since you only have two weeks for this, the earlier you go, the more options you'll have. Not all of the 75 permits will hunt, but you'll certainly see other hunters.

---
    I am here: http://maps.google.com/maps?ll=57.052422,-135.366032

A few other things to keep in mind is this is a large area and some of the hunters won't be in there on opening day. There are a few work arounds to the motorized restrictions. Check the regs. You can fly into a strip on the Johnson River or before the 5th. The area that I hunted (DS204) a few years ago, you could have flown in and then floated out on a raft at the end of the hunt.

I can give you a little more information if you're interested, just send me a PM.

Planning to walk in.

Quote Originally Posted by Chisana View Post