Thread: A little something to chew on...part one.

Default A little something to chew on...part one.

Smokeless Powder. What its it and how does it work?

Much has been discussed and debated about smokeless powder. Many myths have been unveiled and many technical details given.

Since I work in the powder field I though Id try to give some details about how it works and what really goes on when smokeless powder, or more accurately plastic monopropellants, are burned in a firearm.

First of all, smokeless powder is classified as a flammable solid.
    It is flammable and it is a solid. Well solid little chunks called grains or particles, but I prefer to refer to each small piece as a kernel, mainly because we use the term grain as a unit of measure of weight of this powder.

When this propellant is consumed it is chemical energy. It was discovered or invented about 1846 when a German, Christian Schonbein, mixed cotton fibers with Nitric acid and Sulfuric acid and invented Nitrocellulose. It was unstable and burned much too quickly for use in firearms. Then a Frenchman discovered a way to gelatinize it by dissolving it in a solution of ether and alcohol. This removed the fiber content and after the ether evaporated from the congealed substance it became hard and could be cut or broken into small bits.
    Another unrelated contribution, by an Italian this time, was that of Nitroglycerin. This stuff was very unstable and a sudden jolt could detonate it but it had very high energy yield.
    Then in 1888 a Swede, Alfred Nobel developed a substance, called Ballistite, by mixing 60% Nitrocellulose and 40% Nitroglycerin.

Modern smokeless propellants consist of Nitrocellulose or Nitrocellulose and Nitroglycerin. Nitroglycerin adds energy to the powder and is usually a smaller percentage limited to about 20 %.

The Chemistry of smokeless powder.

Nitrocellulose consists of cellulose, a carbohydrate,