Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

Thread: Bear Spray?

Default Bear Spray?

Hi, I'm new to this fourm this is my first post. I visit a NY Adirondack fourm from time to time, as I have hiked and hunted for black bear there a few times. Recently there was a disscusion on spray vs firearm for bear defense. After reading, I thought to myself, what better place to ask than a fourm from Alaska. Figured if anybody has a large collective experience on this subject, it would be you. Thank you in advance.

In light of the rising frequency of human/grizzly bear conflicts, the Alaska
    Department of Fish and Game is advising hikers, hunters, and fisherman to
    take extra precautions and keep alert for bears while in the field.
    We advise that outdoorsmen wear noisy little bells on their clothing so as
    not to startle bears that aren’t expecting them. We also advise outdoorsmen
    to carry pepper spray with them in case of an encounter with a bear.
    It is also a good idea to watch out for fresh signs of bear activity.
    Outdoorsmen should recognize the difference between black bear and grizzly
    bear ****. Black bear **** is smaller and contains lots of berries and squirrel fur. Grizzly bear **** is much larger, smells like pepper, and has lots of little bells in it.

I knew that was coming.

Generaly speaking "experts" advise a pepper spray with at least 3% capsicum or more. As most pepper sprays contain 1-2%, they don't work well on bears. I however prefer somthing in the .338 to .375 H&H range.
    Chris Willhoite

akhuntnut -- very funny! I always thought the bells were a dinner bell for browns and the pepper spray was seasoning on the humans.

Smile My choice is firearm