Thread: Summer Hunting?

Default Summer Hunting?

I'm new to Ak, and was wondering if there are any animals to hunt in the summer months? In Idaho we would go after ground squirrels and coyotes.

In unit 16 black bear season never closes. If they are off the rivers, they almost always make a good sausage bear.
    Then there are the tourists, but it fleece and release only, so far.
    Live life and love it
    Love life and live it

Don't forget the mosquitos, they are open season all summer long. LOL

rabbit season is open most areas. As well as ground squirell, but theres a salvage requirement for those. They are not a varmint up here. Also lots of areas open for bears year round.

Better get the regs out and just do the research. THere is actually a fair amount of summer hunting you can do.

I just got to thinking about it. part of june and july is about the only time in the summer with limited hunting oppurtunity.

While it may just be an old wives tail I've always herd that you shouldn't eat rodents in a month without an R in it(Not in june July august, but September would be OK.) I know probably one of those old sayings right? Well those old sayings got old because there was some truth behind them. Rabbit fever was a very real and deadly disease and I'm not sure I'd want to test fate over the validity of an "old saying".

Porcupine is usually a year round opportunity too. I'd take my bow (or even a spear!) though, not much sport with a firearm.
    AKmud
    http://i78.photobucket.com/albums/j96/AKmud/213700RMK1-1.jpg

The porcupine is a peacful animal yet God still thought it necessary to give him quills....

Default Porcupine

I've wanted to hunt porcupines - figured it would be good skills building for my 13 yr old.
    I assume skinning is tricky - open up on the belly?
    However, are they any good to eat? I don't want to kill for the sake of it... I can always have the boy shoot at 3Ds

Thumbs up