Thread: Birch Creek bear float/ Moose float

Default Birch Creek bear float/ Moose float

I'm thinking about doing a float hunt on Birch Creek for black bear around June first. I've never done a float hunt before and I have very little experience with rafting. I figured this would be a good first time trip since it's close to Fairbanks and I don't have any experience so if something should go wrong we won't be too far from help. Where is a good place to find info on this specific hunt? I've searched on line but I didn't find exactly what I was looking for. Would this be a good float for a beginner? What will the water level most likely be like at that time? What kind of raft would be good for this trip? I'm also looking into an early September fly in float hunt for moose but I don't which rivers to start looking at for this one. I've read a few books and have talked with people about the actual hunting so my issue is mainly with where to go. Any suggestions? Any info at all would be very much appreciated.
    Thanks, Mike

" Gas boats are bad enough, autos are an invention of the devil, and airplanes are worse." ~Allen Hasselborg

Being that your in Fairbanks and you have limited time floating in a Round Boat or Cat you may consider floating the middle Chena a couple of times just for practice. IMO Round Boats should be easier versus a Cat however that is my opinon. Water Levels should be fine in June so less dragging. In April the outdoor show will be held Jim King, Larry B and Alaska Raft and Kayak will be there and more than likley 6th Ave outfitters ample chance to look at choices of boats to use and guys to talk specs. for both hunting option you have mentioned.

Best of luck

BMR.

Thanks for the info. Bluemoose, I hope to be back in Fairbanks for the utdoor show but theres a good chance I'll miss it.