Thread: 15B Moose???

Default 15B Moose???

Hello All,

Congrats to all who drew their dream tags. No TMA tag for me this year....again!

Can anybody tell me about the 15B Moose tag hunt number DM534. I drew this tag my first time applying as a resident and I didn't do my homework as well as I should have as I was focusing on sheep and goat areas. I believe this area requires horses and etc to successfully hunt it. That is not a problem, I will sort that out if its required.

I was hoping somebody could fill me in on the quality of the hunt and what to expect in terms of the bulls in this area. Is this still a good trophy area or is this just a meat hunt? Would I be an idiot to not hunt this (I have a sheep hunt in Canada booked nearly the same time and vacation time is limited, although I could probably work something out with my employer if this hunt is worth it)

I feel like such an idiot for not knowing more about this tag. I'm just new to Alaska and haven't done my homework as well as I should have.

Thanks for any advise
    Last edited by idig4au; 02-17-2012 at 22:23. Reason: typo

Do you mean DM534,yes it is pretty much a horse hunt but the bench holds some amazing moose up there if you hit it hard,I havent heard much in the last several years so not sure if much has changed.Not sure where you live but you might want to give a call to the kenai bio at f&G they are usually pretty helpful down there
    Dave

BTW dont feel bad about not doing your homework it happens all the time, its a very doable hunt just start planning right away

A few years ago F&G added spike forks to the legal animal for that hunt ( I think they are off the table now though) the reasoning being that because of a post rut "subsistence" hunt in the refuge the number of trophy bulls had been severely reduced, and at least a guy had a chance at meat if he saw a small bull. I don't think the bench hunts are anything like what they used to be.