Thread: Top Remote AK week long floats?

Default Top Remote AK week long floats?

Hello all,

I would like help choosing a river to float this summer.

I'm new to this forum. I am a veteran boater. I am planning a summer float trip, mostly likely early to mid August, in Alaska, for about a week to 10 days. I am looking for a class I or II float in a beautiful, remote part of Alaska. Complex logistics are okay. I'd prefer a huge river valley with towering mountains to the side and few trees.

Which rivers/runs do you recommend?

Your suggestions are very appreciated.

If you ever want any information on the Salt or Colorado rivers in Arizona, I'd love to help.

Thank you,

Tony in Tucson

Default Alaska River Expeditions

Quote Originally Posted by Tony in Tucson View Post
    Hello all,

I'm new to this forum. I am a veteran boater. I am planning a summer float trip, mostly likely early to mid August, in Alaska, for about a week to 10 days. I am looking for a class I or II float in a beautiful, remote part of Alaska. Complex logistics are okay. I'd prefer a huge river valley with towering mountains to the side and few trees.

If you ever want any information on the Salt or Colorado rivers in Arizona, I'd love to help.

Thank you,

Tony in Tucson
    Hello Tony,

Welcome to the Alaska Outdoors Directory!

You are certainly in the right place.

There are, without question, many rivers in Alaska that would fit your criteria. My first suggestions are (in no particular order):
    • The Sheenjek River
    • The Kongakut River
    • The Canning River
    All three are in the Arctic, which offers (in my opinion) the best of what you're looking for. Hiking opportunities are excellent, fishing is acceptable, the mountains are stunning and visibility is great.