Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Moose Recipe for .338 RUM

Default Moose Recipe for .338 RUM

Hey guys, I am coming to AK this september on my first ever moose hunt. I have never done any handloading before and I have a Model 700 .338 RUM that I would like to use this season for my hunt. This hunt will be a float hunt on a small interior creek in a tight thick river corridor. I am expecting that a 200yrd shot will be the longest shot that I could take on this particular hunt. We are packing ultra lightweight and we will not be taking packframes on this hunt so I need to drop any bull we shoot within yards of the shore. I have 2 boxes of empty brass to load and my buddy will load them for me. So, Does anyone have any suggestions for a bullet that will hammer a Moose within 200 yrds.? When I see a Moose on the rivers edge I need to put him down on the spot!! Any help here would be much appreciated...

250 gr barnes would be a heck of a bullet in the 338 RUM. I would rethink not bring a pack frame. Even if it is just the frame part and leave the bag at home. I wouldn't want to carry a moose hind quarter 200 yards without a pack. It would be a PIA.

Quote Originally Posted by swapdonkey View Post
    I would rethink not bring a pack frame. Even if it is just the frame part and leave the bag at home. I DON'T want to carry a moose hind quarter 200 yards without a pack. It IS a PIA.
    No disrespect swapdonkey, but I fixed it for you. As for projectiles in the RUM there are lots of good choices. To drop a moose where he stands is dependent on shot placement and the only reliable means to do it is to break major bones or a CNS hit.
    Foolishness is a moral category, not an intellectual one.

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time