Thread: Unit 25A caribou no closed season

Default Unit 25A caribou no closed season

Ok, Just curious to see your comments. I was looking at the regs, which I spend most of my time doing considering ive become obseesed with my upcoming move. Just looking at areas near fairbanks, which is where I will be living soon. I'm a non resident and as I was searching for nonresident areas to hunt and I noticed 25A no closed season for caribou. Now obviously this is a little ways from faribanks and probably no roads leading into the area, but is there that many caribou in the area where the season is open year around for non residents also. By looking at a map its hard to judge how far it is and if there is accesible roads? Is this a reasonable area to look at for hunting considering Im a poor poor man and cant afford all the nice neccesities like a plane. Just me and my legs and mayde Ill beable to talk the wife into a snowmobile. Not sure what a plane ticket costs but probably out of my budget. wife has me on a tight leash.

NorthWest Alaska

Awsome Hunting "Seasons", eh?

Can you get there by snowmachine????? Investigate that, its the best way to travle in Alaska in winter.
    If you can't Kill it with a 30-06, you should Hide.

"Dam it all", The Beaver told me.....

Fairbanks, Ak.

No closed season is less about the number of animals and more about their migratory nature. Season is open all year to allow locals to legally take bou when they are there.
    I can't help being a lazy, dumb, weekend warrior.......I have a JOB!
    I have less friends now!!

Valdez, Alaska

Martin is exactly right. It doesn't matter how long the season is open if the caribou are 300 miles north of your location. Caribou go where they want too and when.
    "Never again shall one generation of Veterans abandon another".
    Vietnam - June 70 - Feb. 72
    Cancer from Agent Orange - Aug. 25th 2012
    Cancer Survivor - Dec. 14th 2012

South Central