Thread: Looking for an experienced Moose/Caribou hunter in fairbanks to hunt w/ 2012 season

Default Looking for an experienced Moose/Caribou hunter in fairbanks to hunt w/ 2012 season

I will be arriving in Fairbanks/ FT wainwright in early august 2012 and am looking for anyone interseted in showing a newby how its done. Im 28 y/o active duty Army medic and will be stationed at FT wainwright. I have lots of experience hunting and will be locked and loaded with my newly bought Winchester model 70 .338 Alaskan. This may be thinkning a litlle ahead, but I waste no time when it comes to hunting. I have been searching through maps looking at arial photos and reading every possible blog to help my first season be a success. and the read through the Regs ofcourse. I will have many more seasons to hunt the area Infact I dont plan on ever leaving, so hopefully a lifetime, but why waste this first one. After reading the regs and blogs I have become alittle overwhelmed. I am a responsible hunter and want to assure I learn the Alaskan way to hunt correclty. I grew up in a small town in ND can handle the hike, cold and anything thrown at me so rest assured I'm not dead weight. So If anyone with some Alaskan experience would like a hunting companion this coming season please let me know, because I would love to learn.

Come on guys! ;-)

Hey Dakota, best bet IMO, is to find and meet a few of the multitude of hunters from your Post who descend upon the wilds of Alaska each spring and fall and start that way and get in with them. Lots of those guys consume Alaska during their time here and are quite successful - they're young, in shape, and have lots of resources. MANY new military guys (and others) post here looking for info with the basic questions you ask, try the search feature. If you plan on living here, take a slow approach to learning the land and options. It'll pay off and it's rewarding!
    Mike
    www.coffmancoveak.com
    Prince of Wales Island