Thread: Just started to learn how to trap.

Default Just started to learn how to trap.

Hey all i am new to trapping but i am getting the hang of it. i have 4 foot traps out and today i caught my first critter that i could shoot. i caught a good size coon. scared the hell out of me as i thought i didnt have anything like normal and just went walking up to the 1 trap and just happen to look over and see a good size coon under the tree at the 2nd trap. told my daughter to hurry up and get to the truck and get in as i did not know if for sure he was caught in the trap and or how well it was caught in it. loaded the gun stood about 30 to 40 feet away and fired 5 shots and killed it while shaking like a scared kid. i let him flop for a bit while i got the gun unloaded and back in the truck after a good 5 mins or so i walked up to it found a big stick and poked at it the stick was almost 5 feet long i just wanted to be on the safe side even though it was all tangled in the tree, got it out of the trap and took a few pics and went on my way. went back out later to re set the traps and re bait them. i am not out for coons i am out to trap Coyotes well are winter here in MN has been really good with NO snow left and temps in 30's and 40's so there is plenty of food for the coyotes and they just dont seem to be coming in to take the bait. i only seem to be catching hawks owls crows coons and deer on the trail camera. so if you all have some good advice please send me some my way.

Fairbanks most the time, Ancorage some of the time,& on the road Kicking Anti's all the time

OUTSTANDING shari.. First critters are the memory forever. Did you get a photo of your daughter and the coon? we like pics here... or they didnt really happen.

Welcome to AK in a sence.. theres lots of MN folks on the forum.. .i am sure many from your neck of the woods...

hope to hear more from you!!!!!!!

Vince (officail AOD PITA)