Thread: 500 RMK Help MPG

Default 500 RMK Help MPG

OK I've been beating my brains out on this sled all winter

cleaned the carb, new floats, rebuilt the fuel pump rejetted.........now that plugs are CLEAN but I'm still getting 4MPG on mellow trail riding.....

I keep thinking there MUST be a leack but I can't figure out where the gas is going (especially now that the plugs are clean and look good!!) and I don't see or SMELL leaking gas????

somebody said track tension or clutch adjustment????????

could this really knock me down to 4-5 MPG??

The sled seems to run fine.........I've had it going 85 MPH on a lake

seems peppy but I'm afraid to go on a lengthy trip .....ran out of gas once already (47 miles to the 11 gallon tank)

Default 4mpgs

im not an expert by any means although i can fix almost anything, it would seem that if your engine is running good, and everything is working properly, you may look at the clutch. may be slipping excessively. i went riding with a friend and he had an older skidoo that the belt was slipping alot, the belt looked ok but the clutch was engaging at higher rpm, as engine speed stabalized the clutch just started letting go of the belt. after 20 miles the gas tank was more than half gone, had we a more experienced rider on it we may have known sooner that there was a problem. just an idea.

What year is this sled, also...which 500 is it? This could be a number of things.

Default it's a 2000.....

thanks for the ideas....

I'm digging into the clutch next

it was initially hard to start and the plugs looked like crap so I was hoping that was the problem......

on the plus side at least I'm learning a lot about my sled......