Thread: Training Dog to Heal to both sides

Default Training Dog to Heal to both sides

When I started training my now 2.5 yr old Lab I only taught him to heal to the left side as im a right handed shooter. After having run a few hunt tests and talking to other folks about training I was introduced to dogs trained to heal to either side which there are surely some advantages especially when you have two dogs. As I now have a 15 month old lab that has taken to healing to both sides with little trouble. Guess my question here is has anyone else been faced with a similar situation of having a dog trained to heal to one side, and then gone back and tried to train them too both sides and in your opinion was it worth the trouble.
    Jesse
    HR SHR JR's Gunny Dog "Ermey"
    SR JR's Marsh Mangling Mindy
    SR JR's LNR Thicket Thrashing Trixie

Its not too hard to train this. The dog understands heel means to walk next to you. We trained our dogs to "heel right" and to "heel left."

I had to do it at one point with a dog not as old as yours but older than usual heel training. It was not that hard to do.
    Was it worth it...you can make the call for yourself, but it certainly helped me in one of the tests I did.
    It was worth while because It was easy enough to do...and didnt really cost that much timewise

Mine are double sided and have been for almost 20 years. It helps sometimes, sometimes they change sides and seem confused about which side they should be on. It's not hard to tell them where to be.

Heck, it's the middle of the winter, I haven't done a mark in over a week. What else do you have to train on?

Put it in the doesn't hurt, might help department.

Heck, it's the middle of the winter, I haven't done a mark in over a week. What else do you have to train on?