Thread: Rino GPS? Anyone use these

Default Rino GPS? Anyone use these

I was given a Rino hand held 530 gps/radio with topo maps on it. I'm not sure that it's really much better then my reg hand held I've been using for a while now. Anyone have any experience with these, if so do you use many of the features it has while huting? I'm thinking this thing has too many options for me and may sell it.

Thanks
    Boatless

Quote Originally Posted by FISHFACE View Post
    do you use many of the features it has while huting? I'm thinking this thing has too many options and may sell it.
    That's exactly what made me pass on that device when I upgraded my gps. I'm no expert, and ya gotta darn near be a lawyer to hunt these days, but in my mind that device flys in the face of too many regs. If I'm wrong on this judgement, I'd like to hear how cause that'll teach me something (again).

I've used the rino 120's for a long time now. Need to upgrade to a better gps with more memory and don't use nor need the radio function. I just turn off the radio. There is no issue with the regs as long as you aren't using it for hunting. If there were then the big rig guys would have to remove their CB radios. I've only ever used it as a gps and when I have monkeyed around with the radio during my fire days it ate the batteries too quickly anyhow. The 530 is a good gps and even better when it's given to you

I have owned 2 530 hcx models (lost the first one in a river in Montana) they are very useful devices. I have used the weather function many times coastal moose hunting here and mountain/plains deer hunting in Montana, the radio is a nice way to be entertained with friends while in the field just don't use it to corner game and your gtg. Rino's are very useful when on the road also I use mine in the jeep or on my R6. P.S. they do not float they are water proof but they do not float.