Thread: Training Do's and Don'ts

Default Training Do's and Don'ts

Thought I would start a thread to see if there is any interest in sharing ideas over the internet. Part of the reason to get together is to learn from each other and heck why can we not do that here, we all train most everyday so we can share a little to help the other guy out. I am no professional but I do have the ability to learn and know when I mess up seems that happens more and more as I increase the difficulty of training. So bottom line wanted to share things that work for me did not work for me and why in an effort to help the next guy/gal out. Maybe we will even get some professionals on here to critic us and tell us how we are messing up something that we think we are doing right.

Here an attempt at what i am talking about.

1. Something that really worked for me is training with some intensity in the house. Always wanted to run outside and do things out there and more time than not I would get to big to quick. the house caused me to keep things small close to me for immediate correction and narrowed what I could do. Hard to be tempted to throw the bumper very far in the house. I used this time to really be intense on obiedience. My girl did not like it to much and you could see the "are we through yet on her face" but she did it and got good whatever we were working on--- then when we went outside it became very much a treat. Any hard headedness outside began to be much less-- (i have a chesse so that explains some of what I am talking about)