Thread: Seward boat works?

Default Seward boat works?

Since the weather is starting to warm up now... , I want to start doing some stuff to get my ocean rig ready. So far for all my work I have done all the work myself, but was wanting to do a little more this year to get her ready and was wondering if anyone wanted to share some experiences or recommendations of folks in Seward that do some decent work. What I am looking to do this year is;

1. I want to have my hull sanded and then I'll repaint it.
    2. Repack my shafts and rudders (I have never done this before, many say it's easy but am wondering if I just go for it and do it myself or if someone can recommend anyone, maybe I'll watch the first time.)

Thanks for any tips you can offer. Spring is almost near.
    Tony

Tony,

I take it you have straight or v-drive inboards. Replacing the packing on the drive shaft is fairly easy but question why you'd do it on the rudder shaft. I never did my rudder shafts with one of my inboards having over 15 years on it so if it's not leaking, leave it alone. Changing the shaft packing is easy though with the right pick to get the old packing out (there's a special one for this available at most chandleries). You need to measure the space between the shaft and shaft log to get the right sized packing as they come in different thicknesses. After that, it's cutting three sections to replace the old. Wrap the packing around your shaft to get it cut exactly right end to end. Rotate each section 120 degrees off the previous one so the cuts don't overlap, then tighten up gradually until you get about 7 drips per minute and you're good to go.