Q. I am currently an Alaska resident. I might be moving next summer out of the state. How long after I move until I am no longer considered a resident? If I move in June will I still be able to hunt sheep in August? I will not be receiving any resident benefits in any other state for at least 6 months. How long can someone be out of the state before they lose their residency? It would seem to me that I would have to be a resident of somewhere. I searched and could not find anything that would clarify this for me. Could you please send me a link or quote the law for me. Thanks for your help.

A. Thank you for this question. I will start off by reiterating that Alaska Wildlife Troopers cannot provide legal advice. In a situation where you seek legal advice, consult an attorney.

Alaska residency for purposes of hunting and fishing can be a complicated subject. The law surrounding residency can be found in Alaska Statute 16.05.415. Due to the endless variations of each personís circumstances, the best way to get a residency question answered is to sit down with an Alaska Wildlife Trooper and explain your situation. The Trooper will ask questions to determine if you are a resident for purposes of hunting or fishing. Just as a side note... do this before purchasing the resident hunting or fishing license. The fine for making a false statement on a hunting or fishing license is $300.

There are different requirements for residency in Alaska with other benefits such as: the permanent fund dividend. There are several exceptions with residency such as: military members, business owners etc... Each case is very unique and a blanket answer is not possible with this subject. Below is an excerpt of the law surrounding residency.
The residency law specifies several things that must be met in order for you to be a resident.
(a) Determination of residency:
1) Physically present in the state with the intent to remain in the state indefinitely and to make a home in the state.