Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Yukon training area Black bears?

Default Yukon training area Black bears?

Hey there, this is a dumb question I guess but is there good black bear hunting in the YTA? Im new to bear hunting and I just dont know what kind of land to look for and what terrain id find them hangin out in. I knew where to spot them in my woods back in Wisconsin but I dont know what to expect for Alaska and expecialy the Interior. Back home my buddies would go out in early morning and late afternoons almost like whitetail hunting but with the long days in Ak what times best?? I know LOTS of people bait and I intend to take the class so I can too but if i dont bait how should I hunt them?? Really hopin to get a bear this year with my bow or rifle, but I need some guidence....

Jake

go to a high place... camp sit get comfortable, and fall asleep.. .. when you wake up.. One will be out there... but if you just stay there and wait.. you'll never see one... a watched pot never boils? ..

If you cant stand behind the troops in Iraq.. Feel free to stand in front of them.

I've seen black bear all over the YTA. There isn't one good location to look for them. We had one pull a Soldier from his sleeping bag near the Winter Camp a couple years ago. Most of the black bear I've seen out there were up on the higher ground. There are a lot of grizz out there too. If you're thinking about baiting down there then you should expect grizz on your bait.
    "...arms like laws discourage and keep the invader and plunderer in awe...Horrid mischief would ensue were the good deprived of the use of them." -Thomas Paine

lol thanks ret, Ill give that a try.. I guess the hills are where I should go. And AKhunterNp Iv heard of the bear pullin a soilder out of the tent by my Squad leader... Crazy! so Another question is time of the year and time of day would anyone have a clue about that?

Thanks Jake