Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 20 of 22

Thread: 2006 articcat 500

  1. #1
    New member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default 2006 articcat 500

    instrument panel turn off and on while runnig,lights stay on

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Mat-Su
    Posts
    662

    Default

    What is the status of your battery? The wifes 05 started having 'issues' and they went away when I replaced the battery.

  3. #3
    Member AKDoug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Talkeetna
    Posts
    5,312

    Default

    The instrument panels on these bikes are problematic. I have replaced mine twice on my '06 500, and one on my '07 400. There is a plug-in in the back. Take it off and clean it with electrical cleaner. That might help.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Wasilla
    Posts
    357

    Default

    Mine did that to me this summer, the wiring harness under the gas tank was damaged.

  5. #5
    New member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by Tenmm View Post
    Mine did that to me this summer, the wiring harness under the gas tank was damaged.
    checked that OK

  6. #6
    New member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AKDoug View Post
    The instrument panels on these bikes are problematic. I have replaced mine twice on my '06 500, and one on my '07 400. There is a plug-in in the back. Take it off and clean it with electrical cleaner. That might help.
    cleaned no change

  7. #7
    New member
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Posts
    4

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by AK Bearcat View Post
    What is the status of your battery? The wifes 05 started having 'issues' and they went away when I replaced the battery.
    checked that OK

  8. #8
    Member AKDoug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Talkeetna
    Posts
    5,312

    Default

    Then it's the actual digital unit. Piles of them fail.

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Wasilla
    Posts
    357

    Default

    They arent cheap either!

  10. #10
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Mat-Su
    Posts
    662

    Default

    If it is the control panel, it looks like they are about $312 plus change. Guess that I need to watch the ones on our two machines.

  11. #11
    New member
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Posts
    1

    Default

    ok had this issues on 4 of are Ac 700's 550 and 650 Unplug connector Fill with di electric greese and plug it back in. fixed all 4 of ours

  12. #12
    Moderator LuJon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    11,324

    Default

    Many people report that you can pulls the battery cables off and yank the 30 amp fuse over night to fix this most of the time. One thing that historically kills them is jump starting especially from a running car/truck. Mine died after being charged with a trickle charger which may be coincidence but in the future I will pull the 30 amp fuse when storing with a charger or doing any jump starting. Mine appears to be toast and frankly the component is garbage. It makes me a little sad that Cat would not even at least update the design and offer it as an upgrade we could buy to replace the old one when it fails. I hate the thought of purchasing the same junk part at that hefty price!!

  13. #13
    Member AKDoug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Talkeetna
    Posts
    5,312

    Default

    I'll try that dielectric trick, then LuJon's trick because I've just given up on mine.
    Bunny Boots and Bearcats: Utility Sled Mayhem

  14. #14
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    2,366

    Default

    {{Many people report that you can pulls the battery cables off and yank the 30 amp fuse over night to fix this most of the time.}}

    I can understand removing the battery cable. Removing the 30 amp fuse make no sense because it go to the starter. What might work faster is to remove the (+) battery cable and short it to ground. If the computer is using a memory capacitor to keep voltage on the memory circuit, this will discharge it faster instead of waiting over night.

    {{One thing that historically kills them is jump starting especially from a running car/truck. Mine died after being charged with a trickle charger which may be coincidence but in the future I will pull the 30 amp fuse when storing with a charger or doing any jump starting.}}

    There is no difference between the voltage from a running car/truck than a atv. It is best to not use a running vehicle because if you switch the jumper cables you could destroy the alternator on the car/truck.

    A battery act like a capacitor and filter out any spike if it not dead, would adding a capacitor solve the problem of jump starting the atv? Or is the problem two high of a voltage? There are electronic circuit that would prevent any over voltage protecting the computer.

    Will my recommendations fix the problem, I have know idea it still does not make sense to me, why jumping or adding a charger would cause a problem, then it not a problem with any other vehicle.

    Lujon, if you or anyone else is/has replace the computer can I have the old one, to play with.

  15. #15
    Moderator LuJon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    11,324

    Default

    I don't claim to know the electrical circuit diagram for the Cats. I do know that the 30 amp fuse kills the gauge when it it pulled. A 60+ amp alternator charging a car battery is not the same as a magneto charging a small ATV battery.

  16. #16
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    2,366

    Default

    I agree they are not the same, it does not matter what the method of producing the battery voltage is or how much the alternator put out in current the atv will only draw what it need as long as it between 12.6 and 14.5v.

    I'm not saying it not happening; I just don't understand why it happening.

  17. #17
    Member AKDoug's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Talkeetna
    Posts
    5,312

    Default

    I can say with certainty that jumping an AC500 ATV or 4-Stroke snowmachine from a running truck will fry their electrical system. Seen it too many times now. It's all about the amperage and wire size. Just because you have the cables hooked to the + and - posts of the ATV battery doesn't mean the battery will filter anything since the current is free to flow through the very small wires in the ATV system.
    Bunny Boots and Bearcats: Utility Sled Mayhem

  18. #18
    Member walk-in's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    North Pole
    Posts
    754

    Default

    I've got an '07 400, and I'm having the same issue. Back light on the display works, but no actual display. I suspect LuJon is onto something with the trickle charger. I put one on mine last winter, and the last time I fired it up for plowing I had no display. I've checked the connectors and wiring. They appear fine. I'm going to try the dielectric grease thing today. If that doesn't work guess I'm going to give Northern Power Sports a call this week and see what it is going to set me back to get a new control panel will set me back.
    We are right to take alarm at the first experiment upon our liberties.
    James Madison

  19. #19
    Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Anchorage
    Posts
    2,366

    Default

    This works on the '06 + up models..... I was told

    Your fuse(s) are under the seat by the battery (I think). IF you find it - pull the 30amp accessory fuse. THEN remove the battery cables. Wait 5 min. Re-connect the battery and put the fuse back in.

    You need to "wipe" the ECM memory to re-set the pod display. This method seems to solve most blank pod problems. If not - check your wiring harness up under the pod to ensure it plugged in to the gauge, and while your at it check ALL your wires running up the front of the handlebars/steering post for any wire chafe'n.

    Hope this helps....good luck.

  20. #20
    Moderator LuJon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2007
    Location
    Palmer, AK
    Posts
    11,324

    Default

    Quote Originally Posted by walk-in View Post
    I've got an '07 400, and I'm having the same issue. Back light on the display works, but no actual display. I suspect LuJon is onto something with the trickle charger. I put one on mine last winter, and the last time I fired it up for plowing I had no display. I've checked the connectors and wiring. They appear fine. I'm going to try the dielectric grease thing today. If that doesn't work guess I'm going to give Northern Power Sports a call this week and see what it is going to set me back to get a new control panel will set me back.
    Maybe we can get a list of folks together and see if someone can cut us a deal on a bulk order...

Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •