Thread: Paddling the Yukon River

Default Paddling the Yukon River

While I have never paddled in AK, I have a lot of experience paddling in Ontario and Minnesota. I'm considering a paddle trip on the Yukon in 2014 or 15. I have a SIL and grandson in Juneau. My SIL is an experienced outdoorsman also. My grandson will be 6 or 7, depending on which year we choose. I have ordered the MIlepost book and Paddling the Yukon to assess the practicality of the trip. As I live in Minnesota, I am contemplating between driving up with my own gear/canoes, versus the option of renting locally. We want to keep costs as reasonable as possible.

The routes I'm considering are either, Eagle to Circle or Circle to Dalton Hwy. Fishing is an important component. While I've caught monster Northern Pike, I've never fished for graying or sheefish. Both are of interest. I also like salmon. The timeframe I'm looking at is July into mid-August. Anyone know the river miles for Circle to Dalton Hwy?

Any thoughts on working out logistics for this? Are there places we can rent canoes? Are there any shuttle services in the area? Which river segment would you suggest and why? Is one segment better fishing than the other? We plan to fish the tributaries, rather than the main river. We would have seven to ten days for the trip.

I can understand why you may not wish to post good spots to fish, but if you could pm some good places to try. All hints/help appreciated.

Thanks,
    Rich

I've not done a trip like this but this may be of some help http://www.danmaclean.com/

Pretty much all the shallow clear water tributaries will hold grayling. Easy to catch on flies or spinners. Your other desired fish should be listed here. http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm...runtiming.main

I've fished the Dall river for pike and killed em.... keep the regulation book on you as different tributaries have different rules.

Couple other links you may find interesting..