Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Dog trainer in the MatSu Valley

Default Dog trainer in the MatSu Valley

I'm still fairly new to Alaska and am just getting started hunting here. I have a 2 year old black lab but need to get her some training. I was training her when I was in the lower 48 up until she was a year old. She was doing well, but I was in NM and could walk her just a few blocks and we would be in the sage brush where she could work on quail. Just before I moved up here it was bird season and 3 days before the opener she went into heat. And unfortunately, everyone I hunt with has male labs. After getting here I just haven't been able to work her like I probably should.

I know she needs force fetch training. She has the basics down still, and can find anything in the woods, but when she finds it she picks it up, looks at me like "look what I found" and then drops it and runs back to me.

So here's what I'm asking, do you have recommendations on who I could contact to work with? I'd love to hear your experiences of trainers. I've seen a number around here, but experiences of others can tell a lot about any buisness.

Scooter

I'm sure you will get lots of help from this forum. I highly recommend you contact Baron Rea of
    www.wetlandretrievers.net . He helped my wife and I get my lab Nitro started. I also recommend reading Water Dog by By Richard A. Wolters.

Good luck,