Thread: Am I wrong in my line of thinking??

Default Am I wrong in my line of thinking??

Well, I'm planning a 2013 hunt and was looking at drop camps only. I had someone mention to me to check into float hunts, but being that we've never hunted Alaska and have limited float type experience, i deem this a bit dangerous. I have a lot of experience in running a small john boat in the rivers here setting jug and drop lines, i deem this as worthless when it comes to floating rivers in Alaska. Am I wrong to think that it would be a considerable danger to take on such a trip with limited to no experience??

While on the other hand we all have at least 10+ years under our belts in backpack hunts in wilderness areas throughout the lower 48.

Thoughts or Input??

Beast:

Check out our float hunt thread from 2010. We also had zero experience.

http://forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/...-kingfisherktn

Quote Originally Posted by kingfisherktn View Post
    Beast:

Check out our float hunt thread from 2010. We also had zero experience.

http://forums.outdoorsdirectory.com/...-kingfisherktn
    WOW! that was one heck of a trip to say the least. I only dream of the day my 2 kids can tag along on an adventure of epic proportions like that. I've got a bit of a wait though as my oldest is only 6 and the youngest 4. They do tag along to the deer woods here. My daughter is well on her way after taking 2 bucks, a doe, and 4 hogs this season. Now to figure out a way to "talk" my wife into becoming Alaska residents, I'd love to take a grizz and Dall sheep, just don't love the outfitter costs

you definitely have me thinking about giving the float hunt a try, as it'd be a way to really see some more country while we're there and add the ability of moving camp for no more cost than a little manual labor..... seems like a fair trade off.