Thread: when should I plant?

Default when should I plant?

I'm kinda new up here I moved to anchorage last January and I need to know when to plant my garden I'm planning to plant potato, green beans, corn, bell pepper, Broccoli, Cabbage, carrot, couliflower, cucumber, garlic, okra, Orion, squash, tomato, and a few type of peppers any info on when to plant should I transplant and if any of these plants will not grow up here thank-you

Feb or early March is when you should get your tomatoes started... unless you are growing them indoors or you have a greenhouse you probably won't have much luck with tomatoes... or cucumbers... I don't know how the bell peppers would do outside.. I've been growing one in a southern facing window for 3 yrs now.. It does nicely altho the peppers are kinda small. I live near Wasilla, and I usually plan on planting everything else directly into the garden about the 3rd week of May... You can get a jump start with Green beans, and peas if you soak them in warm water about 24 hours before planting... otherwise they'll have to absorb the moisture from the soil to get started.. Even if the weather is really nice much earlier, the ground just isn't warm enough for anything to grow much earlier than the 3rd week of May... cauliflower, broccoli, cabbages, etc I cheat and buy the starts that come from local nursery/green houses. You might spend some time reading back through the Garden Forum for some good tips on Gardening in AK...

Quote Originally Posted by cbrehmer View Post
    I'm kinda new up here I moved to anchorage last January and I need to know when to plant my garden I'm planning to plant potato, green beans, corn, bell pepper, Broccoli, Cabbage, carrot, couliflower, cucumber, garlic, okra, Orion, squash, tomato, and a few type of peppers any info on when to plant should I transplant and if any of these plants will not grow up here thank-you