Thread: Fairbanks Area Caribou

Default Fairbanks Area Caribou

Hey guys,

I was looking through the fish and game hunting regulations and noticed that caribou season is open for the 40-mile heard until February 28. (It's my understanding that this is up the Steese a ways) This is my first year as a resident hunter and I am unfamiliar with all the heard locations and such. Anyone have any advice regarding this season? My freezer is getting low to say the least and I could use the extra meat. I haven't heard anything about it by way of word of mouth around town. I would appreciate any advice or direction as to whether or not it is even practical to harvest one this time of year.

Thanks in advance

Just a heads up to check the regs really, really close and also the emergency orders. I don't do this hunt but know it is a CF and you better have current info before heading out. More folks will post with better info but all I can say is cover your rear and learn as much as you can before going. If it's even still open.

Here is a link to the Emergency Order, region 3 read EO 3-12-11, this is a registration hunt, so you have to register for a permit. Almost all the area near the road is closed.

http://www.adfg.alaska.gov/index.cfm?adfg=wcnews.main
    "I refuse to let the things I can't do stop me from doing the things I can"
    Founding Member
    http://www.residenthuntersofalaska.org/

I rode over there hoping to take pictures a couple of weeks ago and didn't see the first caribou. If I had a snowmobile and a cabin on the Goodpaster, I'd head that way.
    Passing up shots on mergansers since 1992.