Thread: Anyone else miss the drawing "deadline"?

Default Anyone else miss the drawing "deadline"?

Second year in a row.

Kinda think harvest tickets are all a guy needs. Everything else "subsistence".. drawings are for sissies.. hehehe

actually was at Girdwood and the snow was so good I just forgot.

never drew anything anyway.. good luck to those that put in..

But not all of the hunts are subsistence. There are some really good hunting opportunities out there for sheep, goats, moose and others. The draws are just a way of controlling the number of hunters going after those animals.

It takes me a few days of deciding which hunts are going to be worth the trouble, cost and logistics of pursuing. As a teacher I just can't take a week off and go. I have to plan carefully for time. So some hunts are put in for every year, others if I have enough personal time to take off. I can take a week this year if I need too, I have saved that much time. But each draw opportunity is weighed against the trouble, cost and logistics.

Vietnam - June 70 - Feb. 72
    Cancer from Agent Orange - Aug. 25th 2012
    Cancer Survivor - Dec. 14th 2012

I put my kids in for some of the "easier" hunts like cow hunts in the valley. Then we put in for a some caribou tags that are close to home. Everybody gets put in for the March Farewell Bison tags.

Quote Originally Posted by Daveinthebush View Post
    But not all of the hunts are subsistence. There are some really good hunting opportunities out there for sheep, goats, moose and others. The draws are just a way of controlling the number of hunters going after those animals.