Thread: water filtration

Default water filtration

i am looking to get set up with a decent water filtration system for backpacking. i am looking at the msr hyperflow. it looks to be a good system, but i am concerned about freezing. i am looking for advice, recomendations etc. i read about tossing it in a ziploc bag, but i dont know if that will work up here in alaska. thanks all

I have been using the Hyperflow for 3 years now and I really like it. It comes with a lid that will fit a nalgene bottle, but it will also fit inside a throw away plastic water bottle and the platypus water bladders. Anymore I use the plastic water bottles and just replace them after each trip instead of the Nalgene heavier ones.

I just put it in my sleeping bag at night to protect from freezing have had no problems. I use the hyperflow for backpacking, but for base camp operations the Katadyn Base Camp Water Filter, is the way to go. It holds a lot of water and no pumping required.

Steve
    "I refuse to let the things I can't do stop me from doing the things I can"
    Founding Member
    http://www.residenthuntersofalaska.org/

For just my use, when back packing or survival trips or hat not I use a sawyer. works great, and it filters it so fast its almost like drinking from a regular cup. I got it for 50 dollars at REI but I think they are cheaper at sports authority.
    http://www.cabelas.com/product/Campi...3Bcat104324580
    Eccleasties 8:11 Because the sentence against an evil deed is not executed quickly, There for the hearts of the sons of men among them are given fully to do evil.

Are you open to using iodine to treat water and skipping the filter? Iodine pills are tiny - I like to save the space/weight in my pack.

I'll 2nd the Katadyn base camp. We used one on Kodiak this fall and I was impressed. Much better than pumping in my opinion
    Tomorrow isn't promised. "Never delay kissing a pretty girl or opening a bottle of whiskey." E. Hemingway