Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Need to buy new sheep/goat backpack- seeking forum input

Default Need to buy new sheep/goat backpack- seeking forum input

My old Camp Trails pack is tired. I need to replace it for 2012. I have been examining both the Barneys (similar to my existing pack) and the Kifaru UL. Now I am familiar with the merits of an external frame system as I've used one for 10 years. But shaving off 3-4 lbs initially from your pack weight with the Kifaru has appeal to me. But I have no prior experience with an internal frame. I need a pack that can handle a 125-130 lb load if needed, although I try to go in at 50 lbs or under.

For those with experience with these two makes of packs, please help guide me in my purchasing decision. Neither are inexpensive so I wish to make the best decision possible.

Thanks.

I have used the Barneys, Cabelas outfitter, Mystery Ranch, and Kifaru packs, and my favorite without question is the Kifaru Timberline. It just came out this year and I was lucky enough to get ahold of one. It's just over 5lbs, and although I was skeptical of using an internal frame pack, it was extremely comfortable and had plenty of support, even with a whole sheep. It's all I see myself using for the near future.

The kifaru timberline would probably serve you well. I don't care for external frame packs in the mountains. If moose was also on the menu then the Barney's pack would probably be a better all around choice. I tried the Barney's and decided to move to an internal after my first real trip. I won't be looking back.

I used a Kifaru KU5200 last fall, worked well but I also think for heavier loads that the Timberline might be the better choice. But for lighter loads the KU5200 sure is an awesome pack. If you are near Fairbanks I have both the KU5200 and a G2 Long Hunter.

Steve