Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Premium fuel recommended for the 600 etec motors?

Default Premium fuel recommended for the 600 etec motors?

Why do they recommend premium fuel? If that's the case......ouch! more money on top of an already expensive engine option in the skandics and tundras.

How much are we talking about over the life of the machine? I think most people look at a few pennies and say this stuff just to be saying this stuff. Just sayin'.

These machines are toys for 90 percent of urban folks, what will a few additional cents here and there hurt? For a machine that may see only 750-900 miles with the original owner over two years?
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

It's a high performance engine so I am told. I run premium in my Yamaha 4 stroke even though it's not required. Just a few extra bucks IMO. Seems reasonable.

Is the compression ratio of the engine too high for 87 octane fuel? Increasing compression would make the motor put out a bit more power, but at the expense of running premium fuel. It's the only reason I could think of, but nobody knows why so I'm hoping someone will.

Quote Originally Posted by mainer_in_ak View Post
    Is the compression ratio of the engine too high for 87 octane fuel? Increasing compression would make the motor put out a bit more power, but at the expense of running premium fuel. It's the only reason I could think of, but nobody knows why so I'm hoping someone will.
    you may be spending more by running 87 octane vs 92 octane. if the machine call for 92 then that is what you should run........

here,s a good read, some mention it could set off a [ Knock sensor] and go into a limp mode.