Thread: Anyone Driving A Dillon XL-650?

Default Anyone Driving A Dillon XL-650?

Gonna buy one and wanted a heads up on things to watch out for.

Thanks.
    Great spirits have always found violent opposition from mediocre minds. The latter cannot understand it when a man does not thoughtlessly submit to hereditary prejudices but honestly and courageously uses his intelligence. Albert Einstein

Better living through chemistry (I'm a chemist)

You can piddle with the puppies, or run with the wolves...

Pretty fancy N-man...congratulations. I've worked my RL 550-B pretty well with 45ACP, 10mm and 223 with just a couple of hang-ups of the "operator error" type. I only use spherical powder, but you probably already know about that. Let us know how many rounds you can crank-out in an hour after you get it all set-up and de-bugged.

Chuck

Quote Originally Posted by Nitroman View Post
    Gonna buy one and wanted a heads up on things to watch out for.
    I ran a 650 for several years. If you're making lots and lots of the same type of ammo, then a 650 with case feeder makes sense. I could easily crank out several thousand rounds of .45ACP ammo on a Saturday morning. If you're doing smaller runs of lots of different ammo and/or calibers, then a 550 is better way to go. The 550 is faster/simpler to change over.

A 650 without the case feeder is silly, by the way. Don't bother getting a 650 unless the case feeder is part of the package.

Yup, I was going to order the 650 with casefeeder, and complete changes for .40, .45ACP, .223, and .308 to start. Will also get the Mr. Bullet Feeder.

I will get a Ponsness-Warren auto-drive for it maybe this summer. I really wanted the rl-1050 but all set up for one cartridge would run +$2k, and nowhere near the versatility of the 650.