Thread: Grouse/Ptarmigan recipe?

Default Grouse/Ptarmigan recipe?

I am looking for a tasty recipe for some grouse/ptarmigan breasts. It's my first time cooking ptarmigan and don't know how it cooks or what to expect. Any help is welcome!

Default grouse/rabbit

This late in the season many grouse and ptarmigan may have a strong taste due to the buds they've been eating all winter long. You my want to try a marinade. I like to cook birds in sasla. Just set the salsa on the stove and boil the bite sized pieces of bird in it. This recipe is also very good for duck. Any fishy taste is replaced by salsa.

Or you can roll bite sized pieces of meat in flour, garlic salt, and pepper then fry it. After the meat is mostly cooked(about 85-90%) you can try searing it with lemon juice. Put the juice in the pan (start out with 2 tablespoons, depends on amount of meat), and then cover the meat with a top that will keep the steam inside. Then just finish cooking the meat. I like to serve this over rice.

The second recipe is even better for rabbit than it is for grouse.

-Eric

Thanks very much for the suggestions, I think that second one sounds especially good!

You could also try a variation of chicken cacciatore. Sub the grouse for the chicken. I prefer this recipe with rotel tomatoes like my mom used to make. Cacciatore is Italian for hunter for anyone that's wondering.

http://www.cooks.com/rec/search/0,1-...hatori,FF.html
    Chris Willhoite

I Can't wait to kill more ducks and try the salsa thing
    I choose to fly fish, not because its easy, but because its hard.

Default Cooking Birds

I like to cut them in small bite size pieces, flour, salt, pepper, lawryes, and garlic. Fry hot and quick in oil or bacon grease. (like liver) dip in mustard, ordurves (sp) Haven't any one who is willig to try it, that did not like it!

Don't forget to take the lipitor afterwards to clean out the arteries

Quote Originally Posted by ak_powder_monkey View Post